Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Take Action
Protect Medicaid

Follow the link and contact your representatives in Congress today!

Read More
Untitled 1
Press Releases >>
Six Centers Earn Top Distinction in Quality Care  
Six Centers Earn Top Distinction in Quality Care
--Association announces recipients of Gold National Quality Award --
(202) 898-3165 


Washington, D.C. – The American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) today announced the six care centers that have earned a 2014 Gold – Excellence in Quality Award. The award is the final of three distinct awards possible through the National Quality Award Program presented by AHCA/NCAL. The competitive award program recognizes centers across the nation that meet rigorous standards and serve as models of excellence in providing high-quality long term care.

“At this level, centers must show superior performance in several areas including customer and staff satisfaction and engagement. I’m proud to say that this year’s recipients have achieved this significant milestone and stand among the very best in the nation,” said Ed McMahon, Ph.D., Chair of the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Board of Overseers. “I commend them all for their commitment and dedication to the quality journey.”

The 2014 Gold – Excellence in Quality Award recipients are:
• Altercare of Louisville Center for Rehabilitation & Nursing Care, Inc.; Louisville, OH
• Glen Hill Center Genesis HealthCare; Danbury, CT
• Golden LivingCenter-St. James; Saint James, MO
• Oregon Veterans Home; The Dalles, OR
• South Davis Community Hospital; Bountiful, UT
• Stonebrook Healthcare Center; Concord, CA

The Gold – Excellence in Quality Award is the most prestigious of the program. It requires care centers to previously achieve both the Bronze – Commitment to Quality and Silver – Achievement in Quality awards and adheres to the rigorous criteria outlined in the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. The Gold Award is designed to elicit best practices from recipients in the areas of leadership, strategic planning, customer focus, process management and results. Since the inception of the National Quality Award Program in 1996, only 24 care centers have achieved this level of quality recognition.

AHCA/NCAL previously announced the Bronze – Commitment to Quality and the Silver – Achievement in Quality recipients in May and June of this year. The National Quality Award Program is sponsored by AHCA/NCAL Associate Business Members My InnerView, by National Research Corporation and PointRight. My InnerView represents the true voice of nursing home and assisted living residents, families, and employees with the most insightful quality measurement solutions and satisfaction surveys in the healthcare continuum. PointRight is the recognized leader in data-driven analytics for health care and insurance. The recipient centers will be honored during the AHCA/NCAL’s 65th Annual Convention and Exposition, October 5-8, 2014, in Washington, D.C.​​



The American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) represents more than 13,700 non-profit and proprietary skilled nursing centers, assisted living communities, sub-acute centers and homes for individuals with intellectual and development disabilities. By delivering solutions for quality care, AHCA/NCAL aims to improve the lives of the millions of frail, elderly and individuals with disabilities who receive long term or post-acute care in our member facilities each day. For more information, please visit or