Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
News Releases >>
2012 NCAL Award Winners Represent Best in Profession  
2012 NCAL Award Winners Represent Best in Profession

Lisa Gelhaus, NCAL Director Public Affairs (202) 898-2825

Washington, D.C.—The National Center for Assisted Living (NCAL) is proud to announce the 2012 recipients of the NCAL Administrator of the Year, the Assisted Living Nurse of the Year, Noble Caregiver in Assisted Living, and the National Assisted Living Week Programming awards. These award winners represent the best in the nation in the assisted living profession.
The winners are:
NCAL Administrator of the Year: Helen Crunk, RN, administrator of Mable Rose Estates, a Hillcrest Health System memory care community, located in Papillion, Neb.
NCAL Assisted Living Nurse of the Year: Beverly Johnston, RN, The Chelsea at Tinton Falls, Tinton Falls, N.J.
Noble Caregiver in Assisted Living: Ernest Kastner, maintenance/environmental services director of Van Dyk Park Place, Hawthorne, N.J.
National Assisted Living Week Programming: Riverside Lodge Retirement Community in Grand Island, Neb., activity directors Grace Nordlund and Cathy Roark won for the programming during 2011 National Assisted Living Week theme “Forever Proud.”  The community held a parade and ended the week with a tailgate party.
The winners will be recognized at a special awards ceremony on October 7, 2012 in Tampa, Fla. during the Sixth Annual NCAL Day luncheon. NCAL Day launches the 63rd Annual AHCA/NCAL Annual Convention & Expo in Tampa.
The National Center for Assisted Living (NCAL) represents more than 3,500 not-for-profit and proprietary assisted living and residential care communities dedicated to improving lives by delivering solutions for quality care for seniors and individuals with disabilities. NCAL is the assisted living voice of the American Health Care Association.