Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Quality >>

AHCA NCAL Quality Award Program

About The Program

The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program provides a pathway for providers of long term care services to journey towards performance excellence.

The program is based on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. The Quality Award program is open only to NCAL and AHCA members in good standing.
The Quality Award program has three progressive step levels. Applications are judged by trained Examiners who provide feedback on opportunities for improvement to support continuous learning. Communities must achieve an award at each level to progress to the next level.
New for 2013 is the Bronze for Assisted Living Award! Applying for Bronze, Silver or Gold requires a team. Select your Quality team members and begin the application process today!
Intent to Apply: Nov. 15, 2012 8 p.m. EST
Application: Jan. 31, 2013 8 p.m. EST
Earning a Quality Award is an achievement that demonstrates the assisted living community’s commitment to delivering quality care and services to its residents. Being a recipient of a Quality Award distinguishes your assisted living community from assisted living communities.

The award levels are:
  • Bronze for Assisted Living – Commitment to Quality applicants begin their quality journey by developing an organizational profile including vision and mission statements, an awareness of their environment and customers’ expectations, and a demonstration of their ability to improve a process. 
  • Silver – Achievement in Quality applicants demonstrate a level of achievement in their quality journey through good performance outcomes that have evolved from how they embrace the core values and concepts of visionary leadership, focus on the future, resident-focused excellence, management by innovation, and focus on results and creating value.
  • Gold – Excellence in Quality applicants must show superior performance over time that is based on their systematic approaches to leadership; strategic planning, focus on customers, measurement, analysis and knowledge management, workforce focus, process management and results. Gold applicants address the complete Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence in Health Care.
Every year recipients are recognized at the AHCA/NCAL Annual Convention & Expo. To view the 2012 recipients click here.

For more information and applicant resources visit

If you have questions e-mail the Quality Award program staff at