Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


Perception vs. Reality: The Quality Award Program for Assisted Living Providers

Date and Time: 10/19 at 2pm ET 

In a competitive and ever-changing market, assisted living providers must identify ways to stay a step ahead and stand out to potential customers and referral sources. The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program provides the external validation necessary to set yourself apart from the competition. Historically, the Quality Award Program has been perceived as being only for skilled nursing centers. However, more assisted living communities than ever before are applying for and receiving the National Quality Award. In 2018, 114 assisted living centers received the Bronze award, 47 centers received the Silver award and two (the first AL communities) received the Gold award. On this webinar, we will break down the commonly cited barriers preventing assisted living communities from participating in the program and talk about the many free resources available to help assisted living providers succeed. We will also hear from the two 2018 Gold recipient assisted living organizations about their journey, including how they did it and how it benefited their organization. Join us to learn how the Quality Award program can help you succeed!

Learning Objectives:

1. Participants will be able to describe the perceived barriers for assisted living participation in the program and how to overcome them.

2. Participants will be able to summarize the free resources available to help assisted living providers succeed in the program.

3. Participants will discover how participation in the program would benefit their organization.


· Alana Wolfe, National Director of Performance Excellence, Sunrise Senior Living

· Nicolette Merino, Avamere Health Services

· Kimberly Dilg, Executive Director, Sunrise of Gurnee

· Marcia Jackson, RN Administrator, Maine Veterans Home – Machias

Who Should View This Event:

Leadership (i.e. administrator, DON, etc.) at assisted living communities that are members of AHCA/NCAL.

2018 Gold Quality Award Recipients Announced
Last week, the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) announced that two skilled nursing care centers and two assisted living communities have earned the 2018 Gold – Excellence in Quality Award. The award is the final of three distinct levels possible through the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program, which recognizes organizations nationally that serve as models of excellence in providing high-quality care.

The 2018 Gold – Excellence in Quality Award recipients are:
• Comer Health and Rehabilitation; Comer, Georgia
• Holly Heights Nursing Center; Denver, Colorado
• Maine Veterans Home - Machias; Machias, Maine
• Sunrise of Gurnee; Gurnee, Illinois

Maine Veterans Home – Machias and Sunrise of Gurnee are the first free-standing assisted living communities to ever attain the Gold – Excellence in Quality Award in the history of the program.

Based on the core values and criteria of the nationally recognized Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program challenges member providers to achieve performance excellence through three progressive levels—Bronze, Silver, and Gold. The Gold – Excellence in Quality Award is the most prestigious of the program. At this level, recipients have invested multiple years in mastering and applying the rigorous quality improvement standards of the Baldrige Criteria to achieve superior results in leadership, strategic planning, customer and workforce focus, and operations and knowledge management.

Since the inception of the National Quality Award Program in 1996, only 34 long term and post-acute care providers—excluding this year’s recipients—have achieved this level of quality recognition.

AHCA/NCAL announced the recipients of the Bronze – Commitment to Quality on May 31 and Silver – Achievement in Quality on June 28. A full list of recipients is available on the AHCA/NCAL Quality Award website here.

The program is sponsored by the following AHCA/NCAL Associate Business Members: First Quality, NRC Health, and Team TSI Corporation. The awards will be presented to recipients during AHCA/NCAL’s 69th Annual Convention & Expo in San Diego, California, October 7-10, 2018.