Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
 

 Fast Facts

 
  • Almost 90% of communities measure resident and family satisfaction
  • 88.7% have a resident council
  • Of the communities that have a resident council, 82.7% have leadership that meet with the council
 

 From Our Bookstore

 
Assessing Satisfaction In Health and Long-Term Care
print/style%20library/AHCA/images/iconFacebook.png/style%20library/AHCA/images/iconLinkedIn.png/style%20library/AHCA/images/iconTwitter.png/style%20library/AHCA/images/iconMail.png

Customer Satisfaction

Just like any other business, assisted living communities must ensure that the customer is king. Customer satisfaction ratings provide a rich source of information for people seeking long term care services for themselves or for a loved one. Many consumers already ask prospective communities for their customer ratings, and the trend is moving toward greater public reporting.


AHCA/NCAL has developed a core set of customer satisfaction questions to allow consistent measurement of satisfaction across all long term care settings, which supports the Quality Initiative. This questionnaire, called "CoreQhas been independently tested as a valid and reliable measure.

CoreQ has four questions for assisted living communities:

  1. In recommending this facility to your friends and family, how would you rate it overall?
  2. Overall, how would you rate the staff?
  3. How would you rate the care you receive?
  4. Overall, how would you rate the food?

Members can upload and track their CoreQ results in AHCA/NCAL's LTC Trend Tracker.

The association is working with many of the customer satisfaction vendors to add the CoreQ questions to their existing questionnaires or administer just the CoreQ questionnaire. A list of vendors that have added the CoreQ to their questionnaires can be found below.  

​Customer Satisfaction Vendor Using CoreQ ​Contact Name Email​
Align​ ​Neil Gulsvig ngulsvig@align30.com
Brighton Consulting Group ​Lisa Jesse ​lisajesse@bcgdata.net
Healthcare Academy (ReadyQ) ​Judy Hoff, MA jhoff@healthcareacademy.com
Holleran ​Aggie Marciniak amarciniak@holleranconsult.com
​inQ Experience Surveys ​Rich De Jong RDeJong@symbria.com
Market Research Answers (CareSat)​ ​Jill Rosso jill.rosso@marketresearchanswers.com
National Research Corporation (My InnerView) ​Rich Kortum RKortum@nationalresearch.com
Pinnacle ​Brady Carlsen brady.carlsen@pinnacleqi.com
Providigm/abaqis ​Peter Kramer pkramer@providigm.com
Sensight Surveys ​Lyn Ackerman, PhD lynn@sensightsurveys.com
Service Trac ​Michael Johnson Michael.Johnson@practicemax.com
The Jackson Group, Inc. ​Janette Jones jjones@thejacksongroup.com

 (as of March 15, 2016)

If you don’t see your customer satisfaction vendor on this list, or you are a vendor and would like to be on the list or learn more please contact Lindsay B. Schwartz at lschwartz@ncal.org. If your community doesn’t use a customer satisfaction vendor, Nicholas Castle, Ph.D. will be able to administer only the CoreQ for a fee. You can contact Dr. Castle at CastleN@Pitt.edu.



LTC Trend Tracker 

Members of NCAL can register and use LTC Trend Tracker to take advantage of the online tool’s CoreQ Upload.  The upload allows assisted living communities to upload their CoreQ data and compare themselves to their peers. 


 
​DISCLAIMER: The AHCA/NCAL quality programs’ contents, including their goals and standards, represent some preferred practices, but do not represent minimum standards or expected norms for skilled nursing and/or assisted living providers. As always, the provider is responsible for making clinical decisions and providing care that is best for each individual person.​
.