Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Take Action
Fight Coronavirus in Long Term Care

Find guidance, resources and daily updates on the COVID-19 pandemic.

Read More
Untitled 1
Press Releases >>
Dr. Ed McMahon Named 2014 Champion of Quality Award Recipient  
Dr. Ed McMahon Named 2014 Champion of Quality Award Recipient
Leader, advocate honored for outstanding contributions to quality care
(202) 898-3165

Washington, D.C. – The American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) announced Ed McMahon, Ph.D., as the 2014 recipient of the Mary K. Ousley Champion of Quality Award. Dr. McMahon is being recognized for his contributions to quality in the long term and post-acute care community.
For more than 30 years, Dr. McMahon has worked to increase awareness and understanding of the importance of delivering quality care.  His contributions on a national level include developing innovative Alzheimer’s care models that have been replicated throughout the country.  As Vice President of Quality for Sunrise Senior Living, he has led nearly 300 centers nationwide through the principles of Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement (QAPI).  Over the years, he has participated in more than 15 research projects with multiple universities with a focus on improving quality of life, quality of care, and quality outcomes for Alzheimer’s and dementia patients, and is a nationally recognized speaker on quality issues.
“Ed’s dedication and passion for quality has benefited the long term and post-acute care profession in profound ways,” said Mary Ousley, AHCA Quality Cabinet Chair and namesake of the award. “He’s a role model, a quality ambassador, a teacher, and a leader of positive change. I’m so proud Ed is receiving this well-deserved recognition.”
Currently, Dr. McMahon is an AHCA Quality Cabinet member and current Chair of the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program Board of Overseers, while also participating as a volunteer Examiner since the program’s inception.  In addition, he was a member of the committee that developed the National Quality Award Program, which has contributed to the quality improvement efforts of thousands of award recipients since 1996. 
AHCA presents the Mary K. Ousley Champion of Quality Award to an individual or organization that has made a significant national contribution to advancing quality performance in the long term care field. Recipients must consistently advocate for quality approaches, while demonstrating the ability to educate and advocate for a systems approach to quality improvement. Recipients also display leadership in the development, promotion, and implementation of quality improvement initiatives that improve the quality of care and quality of life for individuals in need of long term care.
In 2011, the Friend of Quality Award was renamed the Mary K. Ousley Champion of Quality Award to honor the ongoing legacy and commitment to quality care demonstrated by its namesake, Mary Ousley, a licensed nursing home administrator and nurse who has dedicated her life to quality improvement programs in long term care.
Dr. McMahon will be presented the award at AHCA/NCAL’s 65th Annual Convention and Exposition, October 5-8, 2014, in Washington, D.C.
The American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) represents more than 14,000 non-profit and proprietary skilled nursing centers, assisted living communities, sub-acute centers and homes for individuals with intellectual and development disabilities. By delivering solutions for quality care, AHCA/NCAL aims to improve the lives of the nearly 5 million seniors and individuals with disabilities who receive long term or post-acute care in our facilities each year. For more information, please visit or​​