Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Take Action
Fight Coronavirus in Long Term Care

Find guidance, resources and daily updates on the COVID-19 pandemic.

Read More
Untitled 1
Press Releases >>
AHCA/NCAL Announces 2013 Bronze National Quality Award Recipients  
AHCA/NCAL Announces 2013 Bronze National Quality Award Recipients
Facilities recognized for commitment to quality care

Washington, DC – This week, the American Health Care Association/National Center for Assisted Living released the names of the nearly 360 facilities that have earned a 2013 Bronze - Commitment to Quality National Quality Award. The award is the first of three distinctions possible through the National Quality Award program, which honors skilled nursing and post-acute care facilities across the nation that have demonstrated their commitment to improving quality care for seniors and individuals with disabilities.
“These facilities have risen to the challenge set forth by the Bronze level criteria,” said Ed McMahon, Chair of the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Board of Overseers. “Achieving this level of success takes vision, planning, and a commitment to long-term quality improvement. We applaud these facilities for their achievement.”
Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. The program assists providers of long term and post-acute care services in achieving their performance excellence goals.  The program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Facilities begin the quality improvement process at the Bronze level, where they develop an organizational profile with essential performance elements such as vision and mission statements and an assessment of customers’ expectations. Bronze applicants must demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. A team of trained Examiners reviews each Bronze application to determine if the facility has met the demands of the criteria. As a recipient of the Bronze - Commitment to Quality award, these facilities may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Silver - Achievement in Quality award. A full list of the recipients is available on the AHCA/NCAL website.
AHCA/NCAL will announce the 2013 Silver - Achievement in Quality and Gold – Excellence in Quality recipients in the coming months. The National Quality Award program is sponsored by AHCA/NCAL Associate Business Member My InnerView, by National Research Corporation. The awards will be conferred during AHCA/NCAL’s 64th Annual Convention and Exposition, October 6-9, 2013, in Phoenix, AZ.

The American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) represent more than 13,000 non-profit and proprietary skilled nursing centers, assisted living communities, sub-acute centers and homes for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities. By delivering solutions for quality care, AHCA/NCAL aims to improve the lives of the millions of frail, elderly and individuals with disabilities who receive long term or post-acute care in our member facilities each day. For more information, please visit or