Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Take Action
Fight Coronavirus in Long Term Care

Find guidance, resources and daily updates on the COVID-19 pandemic.

Read More
Untitled 1
Press Releases >>
AHCA/NCAL Releases Names of 2013 Silver National Quality Award Recipients  
AHCA/NCAL Releases Names of 2013 Silver National Quality Award Recipients
-- Long term and post-acute care facilities honored in national program
for best practices in quality care-- 

(202) 898-2829


​Washington, DC – Today, the American Health Care Association/National Center for Assisted Living released the names of the 59 facilities that have earned a 2013 Silver – Achievement in Quality National Quality Award. The award is one of three distinct awards possible through the National Quality Award program, presented by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL). The competitive award program highlights select facilities across the nation that serve as models of excellence in providing high-quality long term care.

“Through this achievement these award recipients have demonstrated to their residents, their communities, and the long term and post-acute care profession at-large that they are not only committed to quality, but they are excelling in that commitment,” said Ed McMahon, Chair of the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Board of Overseers.

Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. The program assists providers of long term and post-acute care services in achieving their performance excellence goals.  The program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. As a recipient of the Silver – Achievement in Quality award, these facilities and their staff have demonstrated systematic advancements in quality, plans for continual improvement, and sustainable organizational goals. Recipients of the Silver – Achievement in Quality award may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Gold – Excellence in Quality award, which requires them to address the Baldrige Health Care Criteria for Performance Excellence in its entirety. A full list of the recipients is available on the AHCA/NCAL website.

AHCA/NCAL previously announced the Bronze – Commitment to Quality National Quality Award recipients. Recipients of the coveted Gold- Excellence in Quality award will be announced later this year. The National Quality Award program is sponsored by AHCA/NCAL Associate Business Member My InnerView, by National Research Corporation. The awards will be conferred during AHCA/NCAL’s 64th Annual Convention and Exposition, October 6-9, 2013, in Phoenix, AZ.

The American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) represents more than 13,700 non-profit and proprietary skilled nursing centers, assisted living communities, sub-acute centers and homes for individuals with intellectual and development disabilities. By delivering solutions for quality care, AHCA/NCAL aims to improve the lives of the millions of frail, elderly and individuals with disabilities who receive long term or post-acute care in our member facilities each day. For more information, please visit or