Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Press Releases >>
Long Term Care Heroes Honored at National Convention  
Long Term Care Heroes Honored at National Convention

Amy Mendoza
(202) 898-2806


Tampa, FL – The American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) today honored over 500 individuals, groups, skilled nursing and assisted living facilities at the closing general session of the association’s 63rd Annual Convention & Exposition. Those honored reflect extraordinary and selfless dedication to advancing quality care for America’s elderly and persons with disabilities.

“We’re proud to honor best and brightest of long term and post-acute care at today’s ceremonies,” stated Mark Parkinson, President and CEO of AHCA/NCAL. “These award recipients reflect the untapped potential that we all have in order to make a positive difference in the lives of the elderly and persons with disabilities.”

The presentation included the following awards, among many:

  • Adult Volunteer of the Year: Rebecca Riggins of McDowell Nursing and Rehabilitation Center in Gary, WV
  • Young Adult Volunteer of the Year: Alexis Nast of the Pines at Poughkeepsie in Poughkeepsie, NY
  • Group Volunteer of the Year: Seniors Aid New Hampshire in Pembroke, NH
  • DD Hero of the Year: Carolyn Olson of CARC, Inc. in Carlsbad, NM
  • Not For Profit Resident Care Services Award: West Jordan Care Center in West Jordan, UT

Earlier in the week, NCAL distributed the following awards during its annual “NCAL Day” for assisted living providers:

  • NCAL Administrator of the Year: Helen Crunk, RN, administrator of Mable Rose Estates in Papillion, NE
  • NCAL Assisted Living Nurse of the Year: Beverly Johnston, RN at The Chelsea at Tinton Falls in Tinton Falls, NJ
  • Noble Caregiver in Assisted Living: Ernest Kastner, maintenance/environmental services director of Van Dyk Park Place in Hawthorne, NJ
  • National Assisted Living Week Programming: Riverside Lodge Retirement Community in Grand Island, NE

In addition to individual awards, the ceremony included the presentation of the National Quality Awards, in which more than 450 facilities were honored for their dedication to achieving and advancing quality excellence. Facilities can earn awards in one of three categories, including: the Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award, Silver – Achievement in Quality Award, and the highest level, the prestigious Gold – Excellence in Quality Award.

AHCA’s National Quality Award Program is based on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige National Quality Award Program. A full list of National Quality Award winners can be found on AHCA/NCAL’s Quality Award website

The awards ceremony is a final part of the AHCA/NCAL 63rd Annual Convention & Expo, held October 7-10, 2012 in Tampa, FL.

The American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) represent more than 13,000 non-profit and proprietary skilled nursing centers, assisted living communities, sub-acute centers and homes for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities. By delivering solutions for quality care, AHCA/NCAL aims to improve the lives of the millions of frail, elderly and individuals with disabilities who receive long term or post-acute care in our member facilities each day. For more information, please visit or