Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Jan Thayer

Jan Thayer.jpg 

 Past Recipients




Jan Thayer Pioneer Award

​NCAL created the Jan Thayer Pioneer Award to recognize individuals who have moved the senior care profession forward, positively affecting the lives of those served and those who serve. Recipients must demonstrate dedication, leadership and considerable contributions to the senior care profession. The Jan Thayer Pioneer Award is posthumously named after the first Board Chair of NCAL and assisted living owner and operator Jan Thayer.  


Nominations are being accepted until July 10, 2020.


 About the Award

In light of COVID-19, the time frame for the work done by each candidate should have taken place between June 2019- May 2020.

Nomination Requirements:
  • Nominations must be submitted by an individual with an organization that is a member in good standing of AHCA/NCAL.
  • Candidates for the award are not required to be NCAL members.
  • Candidates must be individuals; organizations will not be considered.
  • Nominators must notify the candidates of their nomination. 
  • Only one nomination is accepted per candidate. If multiple nominations are submitted for one person, the nominators will be asked to combine nominations or the first nomination will be accepted.  
  • The nomination must be 500 words or less; nominations exceeding 500 words will not be reviewed. 
  • The nomination must reference the nominee’s national impact. 
  • The candidate’s resume must be three pages or less; resumes exceeding three pages will not be reviewed.
Candidate Attributes:
Below are examples of the types of contributions that strong candidates will exemplify. 
  1. Recognized champion and leader of person-centered care in assisted living and senior living communities.
  2. Demonstrated ability to educate and advocate for the senior care profession at a national level. 
  3. Recognized systems or practices that have resulted in significant quality improvement, prosperous operational outcomes, or an enriching workforce environment.  
  4. Recognized as a catalyst for innovative approaches that enhance the overall customer experience and/or move the senior care profession forward.