Deadline Extended! Nominate a Champion of Quality by Thursday, June 9

Awards and Recognition

The deadline to nominate a candidate for the 2022 Mary K. Ousley Champion of Quality Award has been extended to ​Thursday, June 9, 2022. 

This award recognizes an individual that has made significant national contributions to advancing quality performance in long term and post-acute care, which includes intellectual and developmental disability (ID/DD) providers. Consider submitting a nomination for an individual that meets the nomination requirements and candidate attributes below. The electronic nomination form is linked below. 

Electronic Nomination FormChampion of Quality Nomination Form  

Nomination Requirements: 
  • Nominations will be accepted from AHCA/NCAL members, state affiliates, and staff. 
  • Nominees must have made a national impact to advance quality care in the long term care field: nursing centers, assisted living, or post-acute care. Recipients of the award are not required to be members. 
  • Only one nomination is accepted for a candidate. If multiple nominations are submitted for one person, the nominators will be asked to combine nominations, or the first nomination will be accepted. 
  • Nominations should not be more than two pages. 
  • The nomination must clearly establish the national impact the nominee has had on advancing quality care.  
Nominee Attributes: 
The following are examples of the types of contributions exemplified by strong candidates: 
  • A catalyst for adoption of innovative approaches that have resulted in measurable improvements in quality. 
  • A leader in long term care research and/or interventions that have resulted in significant quality improvement. 
  • A champion and leader of performance improvement at the national level in long term care: nursing centers, assisted living, and/or post-acute care. 
  • An educator and advocate for systematic approaches to quality improvement. 
  • An advocate for policy reform that improves the care of elderly in long term care. 
Questions should be directed to Leah Chambers at