Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


The AHCA Quality Improvement Committee is seeking nominations for the 2018 Mary K. Ousley Champion of Quality Award. This award recognizes an individual that has made significant national contributions to advancing quality performance in long-term and/or post-acute care, including either skilled nursing or assisted living settings. Nominations must be submitted by AHCA members, but recipients of the award are not required to be members.
Nominations have been extended to June 15th 2018 at 11:59 p.m. ET. The recipient will be announced on or before July 27th, 2018 and the award will be presented at the 69th Annual AHCA/NCAL Convention & Expo, October 7-10, 2017 in San Diego!
Past recipients of the award include:

Maryruth ButlerKindred Nursing and Rehabilitation-Mountain Valley
Vincent Mor, Brown University School of Public Health
Alice Bonner, Executive Office of Elder Affairs, Commonwealth of Massachusetts 
Jack Vetter, Vetter Health Services
Bernie Dana, Evangel University 
Mary Jane Koren, the Commonwealth Fund
Bonnie Kantor, Pioneer Network
Dale Thompson, Benedictine Health System
Mary K. Ousley, Ousley and Associates
Barbara Baylis, Providigm
Edward McMahon, Sunrise Senior Living
Nomination Requirements:
  • Nominations must be submitted by an individual from an organization that is a member in good standing of AHCA/NCAL.
  • Candidates must be individuals; organizations will not be considered.
  • Nominators must notify the candidates of their nomination.
  • Only one nomination is accepted per candidate. If multiple nominations are submitted for one person, the nominators will be asked to combine nominations or the first nomination will be accepted. If you have questions about whether a candidate has been nominated, please email Erin Prendergast at 
  • The nomination must be 500 words or less; nominations exceeding 500 words will not be reviewed.
  • The nomination must reference the nominee’s national impact.
  • The candidate’s resume must be three pages or less; resumes exceeding three pages will not be reviewed.
Candidate Attributes:
 Below are examples of the types of contributions that strong candidates will exemplify. 
  • Recognized champion and leader of performance improvement at the national level in long-term and/or post-acute care, including either skilled nursing or assisted living settings. 
  • Demonstrated ability to educate and advocate for systematic approaches to quality improvement.
  • Recognized for LTC research and/or interventions that have resulted in significant quality improvement. 
  • Recognized as a catalyst for innovative approaches that have resulted in measurable improvements.
Selection Process:
  • June 8, 2018: Nominations due online by 11:59 p.m. ET.
  • Late June: The Champion of Quality workgroup (a sub-workgroup of the Quality Improvement Committee) meet via conference call to review the nominations and select the top three candidates.
    • Candidates are selected based on the attributes outlined above. 
    • Any candidates that do not demonstrate a significant national contribution to advancing quality performance in long-term care will not be selected
  • July: The top three candidates are distributed to the full Quality Improvement Committee for a vote. The candidate receiving a majority of the votes will be selected as the Champion of Quality recipient. 
  • July 27, 2018: The award recipient will be notified by AHCA President and CEO Mark Parkinson on or before July 27th.
    • All candidates and nominators who were not selected will be notified by AHCA staff. 
Nomination Submission and Form
The nomination process is closed for 2018.
Please contact Erin Prendergast at