Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Take Action
Fight Coronavirus in Long Term Care

Find guidance, resources and daily updates on the COVID-19 pandemic.

Read More
Untitled 1

 2020 Bronze Key Dates:

Quality Award Portal Opens
September 19th, 2019​

Intent to Apply (ITA)
November 21st 2019
Fee $75

Application & Fee
January 23rd 2020
Fee with ITA Submission $425
Fee w/o ITA Submission $700

Late July/Early August 
*Updated due to COVID-19

 Related Link


Bronze Award

The first step in the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program is the Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award.

The Bronze Award level provides applicants with the tools and resources they need for continuous improvement in quality care. Through the Bronze criteria, based on the Baldrige Excellence Framework, applicants will assess their organization’s mission, vision, and key factors that lead to success. At this award level, utilizing the criteria questions applicants develop an organizational profile for their center. Applying for the AHCA/NCAL Bronze National Quality Award gives your organization a strong foundation for the second step—the Silver – Achievement in Quality Award​ level. 

Questions about the contents of this program may be directed to 
​​Copyright © 2019 American Health Care Association, 1201 L Street NW Washington, DC 20005. All rights reserved.​ Permission to use, copy and/or distribute any documentation and/or related images from this website shall be expressly obtained from AHCA.

The Bronze application packets include important information about the program and eligibility requirements for skilled nursing care centers (SNCC), intellectual and developmental disabilities (ID/DD) and assisted living (AL) providers. 

Member centers can also refer to resources such as the calendar for key dates, Bronze Criteria Series Viewing Guide, and the additional resources below.

Essential Resources

The National Quality Award Program has introduced a new recertification policy that impacts all current and previous Quality Award recipients.

Under this policy, Bronze and Silver Quality Award recipients will have a limited amount of time to apply for the next award level (Silver or Gold) before being designated as a “past recipient” of the award, a status that requires the center to reapply at the Bronze level if it decides to participate in the program again.

All participating centers are responsible for reading and complying with the recertification policy