Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Take Action
Fight Coronavirus in Long Term Care

Find guidance, resources and daily updates on the COVID-19 pandemic.

Read More
Untitled 1

 2020 Gold Key Dates:

Quality Award Portal Opens
September​ 19th, 2019​

Intent to Apply (ITA)
November 21st, 2019
Fee $300

Application & Fee
January 23, 2020
Fee with ITA Submission $3,700
Fee w/o ITA Submission $5,000
Site Visit Notification 
May 28th, 2020

Recipients Announced
August 7th, 2020


 Featured Resource


 Related Link




Gold Award


The final step in the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program is the Gold – Excellence in Quality Award. Recipients of the Gold Award are considered the best of the best in the profession.

At the Gold Award level, applicants must show superior performance in areas of the criteria including leadership, strategic planning, and customer and staff satisfaction. By completing the Gold level criteria, organizations take their quality journey to a higher level through the valuable feedback received in the application process and thereby reaching organizational goals. Gold applicants address the Baldrige Excellence Framework in its entirety.

Applicants are required to receive the Bronze – Commitment to Quality and Silver – Achievement in Quality​ Awards before applying at the Gold level. 

Questions about the contents of this program may be directed to 
​​Copyright © 2019 American Health Care Association, 1201 L Street NW Washington, DC 20005. All rights reserved.​ Permission to use, copy and/or distribute any documentation and/or related images from this website shall be expressly obtained from AHCA.​

Please Note: Applicants must purchase the 2019-2020 Healthcare for Performance Excellence criteria directly from the Baldridge website at 

Member centers can refer to the calendar for key dates and the additional resources below.

Essential Resources

The National Quality Award Program has introduced a new recertification policy that impacts all current and previous Quality Award recipients.

Under this policy, Bronze and Silver Quality Award recipients will have a limited amount of time to apply for the next award level (Silver or Gold) before being designated as a “past recipient” of the award, a status that requires the center to reapply at the Bronze level if it decides to participate in the program again.

All participating centers are responsible for reading and complying with the recertification policy