Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Silver Notification Dates:

All award notifications and the feedback report distribution will be sent via email to the primary contact submitted with the application. Should this information change please email AHCA staff at to update your center's contact information.
  • Award Notification - June 28th
  • Feedback Report Distribution - August 17th

 Featured Resource


 Related Link


 Thank You to Our Sponsors



Silver Award


The second step in the National Quality Award Program is the Silver – Achievement in Quality Award. A requirement of the program is to receive a Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award before applying at the Silver level. 

At this level, applicants continue to learn and develop effective approaches that help improve performance and health care outcomes. The Silver guidelines are based on the Baldrige Health Care Criteria for Performance Excellence. In addition to the Organizational Profile, applicants provide a thorough assessment of their systematic approaches and the deployment of these approaches. The Silver program provides a clear pathway for recipients moving to the Gold – Excellence in Quality Award​

Permission to use, copy and/or distribute any documentation and/or related images from this website shall be expressly obtained from AHCA.

Copyright 2017-2018 American Health Care Association. All rights reserved.​

The Silver application packet contains the application, important information about  eligibility requirements.

Member centers can also refer to the calendar for key dates and viewing guides that link to slides and seminars.

Application Packet

The National Quality Award Program has introduced a new recertification policy that impacts all current and previous Quality Award recipients.

Under this policy, Bronze and Silver Quality Award recipients will have a limited amount of time to apply for the next award level (Silver or Gold) before being designated as a “past recipient” of the award, a status that requires the center to reapply at the Bronze level if it decides to participate in the program again.

All participating centers are responsible for reading and complying with the recertification policy

"Completing the application and ultimately winning the AHCA/NCAL Silver Quality Award was a rewarding experience for our staff and residents.  To complete the application, we formed a team of both administrative and floor staff and also sought input from our residents and families to give us a solid overall look at the facility.  We were able to take a deeper look at our programs to find our successes and identify areas of improvement.  In completing our application, we  were able to strengthen our processes so we can continue to make strides in providing the best care available for our community.  We are excited about continuing the Quality Award journey and plan to apply for the Gold Quality Award in the near future."

Nancy W. Hughes
Kerr Lake Nursing and Rehabilitation Center
2013 Silver Recipient

​Share Your Story Today!​